Doctor Who Series 2 (2006)


Doctor Who 2006 is series 2. It features David Tennant as the tenth Doctor and Billy Piper as Rose Tyler. The season includes a story about the birth of the Cybermen. The third story of the season features Sarah Jane Smith and K-9. This is the final series that Rose appears as a regular companion.

Series 2 (Tenth Doctor)

  1. New Earth – 15 April 2006
    Writer: Russell T. Davies

In the year five billion and twenty-three, after the destruction of the Earth, the Doctor takes Rose to the New Earth. There, he meets an old friend in a mysterious hospital where the Sisters of Plenitude have a cure for everything. But who is lurking in the basement of the hospital? And what has she done with Rose?

  1. Tooth and Claw – 22 April 2006
    Writer: Russell T. Davies

Landing in 1879 Scotland, the Tenth Doctor and Rose meet Queen Victoria, travelling with her to spend the night at the Torchwood Estate. However, a group of warrior monks have sinister plans for the monarch, and the full moon is about to summon a creature out of legend.

  1. School Reunion – 29 April 2006
    Writer: Toby Whithouse

There are strange goings-on at a comprehensive school — UFOs, over-intelligent children, and odd-tasting school dinners. This attracts the attention of the Doctor, Rose and Mickey, as well as a couple of old friends Sarah Jane and K9.

  1. The Girl in the Fireplace– 6 May 2006
    Writer: Steven Moffat

On a seemingly abandoned spaceship in the 51st century, the Doctor, Rose and Mickey find time windows leading to 18th century France and a group of clockwork droids using them to stalk Madame de Pompadour throughout her life.

  1. Rise of the Cybermen (Part 1)- 13 May 2006
    Writer: Tom MacRae

After the TARDIS makes a crash landing on the Earth of another universe, Rose discovers her father is alive and rich, Mickey encounters his alternative self and the Doctor learns one of his oldest and deadliest foes is about to be reborn.

6. The Age of Steel (Part 2) – 20 May 2006
Writer: Tom MacRae

The plans of John Lumic to convert the world into Cybermen are now in full force with the Preachers and the TARDIS crew trapped in a parallel London but can Pete and Rose stop the Cybermen from converting Jackie in time and will Mickey stay on the Parallel Earth?

  1. The Idiot’s Lantern– 27 May 2006
    Writer: Mark Gatiss

In 1953 London, the police are abducting people from their homes. The people of Britain gather around their new-fangled television sets to celebrate the new Queen’s coronation, but something strange is affecting the signal.

  1. The Impossible Planet(Part 1)- 3 June 2006
    Writer: Matt Jones

The TARDIS lands in a base on a planet orbiting a black hole, an impossible situation that stumps even the Tenth Doctor. The base crew are drilling to the centre of the world, to claim the power that keeps it in orbit for the good of the Human Empire. However, an ancient evil is down there too and he is awake.

  1. The Satan Pit(Part 2)- 10 June 2006
    Writer: Matt Jones

With the TARDIS seemingly lost, Rose and the remaining humans are trapped on the base with the possessed Ood, while the planet floats helplessly towards a black hole. Meanwhile, the Tenth Doctor is about to discover exactly what “Beast” is trapped in the heart of the impossible planet

  1. Love & Monsters– 17 June 2006
    Writer: Russell T. Davies

An ordinary man named Elton Pope becomes obsessed with a man called the Doctor and his strange blue box, joining a group of like-minded people in hopes of finding him. But when the mysterious Victor Kennedy joins the group, the fun stops and Elton discovers a darker side to his hobby.

  1. Fear Her– 24 June 2006
    Writer: Matthew Graham

When the TARDIS lands in 2012, the Tenth Doctor plans to show Rose the London Olympics. However, ordinary children are vanishing into thin air, a mother living in a seemingly normal British household is trying to hide her daughter’s unnatural powers from the world, and a demonic presence lurks in an upstairs cupboard.

  1. Army of Ghosts(Part 1) – 1 July 2006
    Writer: Russell T. Davies

Ghostly beings have been regularly appearing across the world and people, believing them to be their dead loved ones, are welcoming their visits with open arms. When the TARDIS arrives at the Torchwood Institute, the Tenth Doctor and Rose are taken prisoner. They are drawn into the investigation of a mysterious sphere kept in Torchwood Tower, and monstrous foes return as two universes collide.

  1. Doomsday(Part 2)- 8 July 2006
    Writer: Russell T. Davies

Humanity is caught in the crossfire as the Cybermen and the Daleks wage war against each other. When the mysterious Genesis Ark opens, the Tenth Doctor is faced with an impossible decision: saving the world could mean the death of Rose Tyler.

Christmas Special 2006

The Runaway Bride (60-minute special) – 25 December 2006
Writer: Russell T. Davies

When Donna Noble finds herself transported aboard the TARDIS, the Tenth Doctor comes across an ancient plot to destroy the Earth and devour humanity. With time running out, can the Doctor solve the puzzle, save the Earth, and still manage to get Donna to the church on time?

Did you know?

* In the 1960’s two Doctor Who Films were made starring Peter Cushing:
1. Dr. Who and the Daleks (1965)
2. Daleks – Invasion Earth 2150 AD (1966)

If you like the products in the right column, then explore our Space Shop. Browse Space MagazineSpace BooksSpace Posters,Travel, Calendars, Space T-Shirts plus more!

Any comments or suggestions on the Dr Who Episodes Guide page, click on Contact Info.